avcodec: only warn about hwaccel with frame threads
authorAndreas Cadhalpun <andreas.cadhalpun@googlemail.com>
Sat, 23 Jan 2016 09:12:30 +0000 (10:12 +0100)
committerMichael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
Sun, 14 Feb 2016 11:53:55 +0000 (12:53 +0100)
VLC uses hwaccel with frame threads and it works fine, but returning
an error here made it fail.

This regression was introduced in commit 31741ae.

Signed-off-by: Andreas Cadhalpun <Andreas.Cadhalpun@googlemail.com>
Warning message text by nevcairiel

Signed-off-by: Michael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
libavcodec/utils.c

index ee73670..53c0c22 100644 (file)
@@ -1016,9 +1016,8 @@ static int setup_hwaccel(AVCodecContext *avctx,
     int ret        = 0;
 
     if (avctx->active_thread_type & FF_THREAD_FRAME) {
-        av_log(avctx, AV_LOG_ERROR,
-               "Hardware accelerated decoding with frame threading is not supported.\n");
-        return AVERROR(EINVAL);
+        av_log(avctx, AV_LOG_WARNING,
+               "Hardware accelerated decoding with frame threading is known to be unstable and its use is discourage.\n");
     }
 
     if (!hwa) {