pthread_frame: make accesses to debug field be protected by owner lock. n3.3
authorRonald S. Bultje <rsbultje@gmail.com>
Thu, 6 Apr 2017 17:58:59 +0000 (13:58 -0400)
committerMichael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
Thu, 13 Apr 2017 00:29:26 +0000 (02:29 +0200)
commit1968a1eef1cae22e162259d7082c2eea98d81e32
tree0a470f8f550764b0df0044c091a5162f7850b391
parentf4f3bf3c94a9aa485c09d0c03d68ca79a4785866
pthread_frame: make accesses to debug field be protected by owner lock.

The av_log() is done outside the lock, but this way the accesses to the
field (reads and writes) are always protected by a mutex. The av_log()
is not run inside the lock context because it may involve user callbacks
and doing that in performance-sensitive code is probably not a good idea.

This should fix occasional tsan warnings when running fate-h264, like:

WARNING: ThreadSanitizer: data race (pid=10916)
  Write of size 4 at 0x7d64000174fc by main thread (mutexes: write M2313):
    #0 update_context_from_user src/libavcodec/pthread_frame.c:335 (ffmpeg+0x000000df7b06)
[..]
  Previous read of size 4 at 0x7d64000174fc by thread T1 (mutexes: write M2311):
    #0 ff_thread_await_progress src/libavcodec/pthread_frame.c:592 (ffmpeg+0x000000df8b3e)

(cherry picked from commit 2e664b9c1e73c80aab91070c1eb7676f04bdd12d)
Signed-off-by: Michael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
libavcodec/pthread_frame.c