movenc: Allow writing a DASH sidx atom at the start of files
authorMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Tue, 21 Oct 2014 08:42:27 +0000 (11:42 +0300)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Mon, 17 Nov 2014 14:17:07 +0000 (16:17 +0200)
commit40ed1cbf147d09fc0894bee160f0b6b6d9159fc5
treef7a74697c9c2f887308f904bf98bfd96aac90a1b
parent3847f3ab58b3b74604807394247bf68827258103
movenc: Allow writing a DASH sidx atom at the start of files

This is mapped to the faststart flag (which in this case
perhaps should be called "shift and write index at the
start of the file"), which for fragmented files will
write a sidx index at the start.

When segmenting DASH into files, there's usually one sidx
at the start of each segment (although it's not clear to me
whether that actually is necessary). When storing all of it
in one file, the MPD doesn't necessarily need to describe
the individual segments, but the offsets of the fragments can be
fetched from one large sidx atom at the start of the file. This
allows creating files for the DASH ISO BMFF on-demand profile.

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavformat/movenc.c
libavformat/movenc.h