vc2enc_dwt: use 32 bit coefficients by default
authorRostislav Pehlivanov <atomnuker@gmail.com>
Sat, 7 May 2016 17:05:25 +0000 (18:05 +0100)
committerRostislav Pehlivanov <atomnuker@gmail.com>
Sun, 8 May 2016 18:09:42 +0000 (19:09 +0100)
commitb6c207f5358181f64e8cfadc929d61f0ed25266c
tree77514e90f845cb1045c9ff7d46038b877dd1cabd
parent64fd62d68abeb3a7325695061c9cb21e13c02d08
vc2enc_dwt: use 32 bit coefficients by default

The problem is that with particularly complex images and especially at
high bit depths and 5-level transforms the coefficients would overflow,
causing huge artifacts to appear. This was discovered thanks to the fate
tests, which will have to be redone as this fixes a multitude of
problems and increases PSNR.

There is a slight performance drop associated with this change, making
the encoder slower by 1.15 times, however this is necessary in order to
avoid undefined behavior and overflows.

It would be worth to template the transforms to keep the performance for
8 bit images as 32 bit coefficients are unnecessary for that case, but
the primary use of the encoder is to encode video at 10 bits.

Reviewed-by: Christophe Gisquet <christophe.gisquet@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Niedermayer <michael@niedermayer.cc>
Signed-off-by: Rostislav Pehlivanov <atomnuker@gmail.com>
libavcodec/vc2enc_dwt.h