movenc: Allow chapters to be written in trailer
authorJohn Stebbins <stebbins@jetheaddev.com>
Mon, 19 Aug 2013 23:05:30 +0000 (16:05 -0700)
committerMartin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 14:18:42 +0000 (15:18 +0100)
This allows creation of frame accurate chapter marks from sources
like DVD and BD where the precise chapter location is not known until
the chapter mark has been reached during reading.

Signed-off-by: Martin Storsjö <martin@martin.st>
libavformat/movenc.c

index 3338f46e268a823bc945950999899f35ec69a22d..39d4e44a449a3355f02c9cb07344252761869ffe 100644 (file)
@@ -3074,7 +3074,9 @@ static int mov_write_header(AVFormatContext *s)
         }
     }
 
-    mov->tracks = av_mallocz(mov->nb_streams * sizeof(*mov->tracks));
+    // Reserve an extra stream for chapters for the case where chapters
+    // are written in the trailer
+    mov->tracks = av_mallocz((mov->nb_streams + 1) * sizeof(*mov->tracks));
     if (!mov->tracks)
         return AVERROR(ENOMEM);
 
@@ -3212,8 +3214,19 @@ static int mov_write_trailer(AVFormatContext *s)
     AVIOContext *pb = s->pb;
     int res = 0;
     int i;
+    int64_t moov_pos;
+
+    // If there were no chapters when the header was written, but there
+    // are chapters now, write them in the trailer.  This only works
+    // when we are not doing fragments.
+    if (!mov->chapter_track && !(mov->flags & FF_MOV_FLAG_FRAGMENT)) {
+        if (mov->mode & (MODE_MP4|MODE_MOV|MODE_IPOD) && s->nb_chapters) {
+            mov->chapter_track = mov->nb_streams++;
+            mov_create_chapter_track(s, mov->chapter_track);
+        }
+    }
 
-    int64_t moov_pos = avio_tell(pb);
+    moov_pos = avio_tell(pb);
 
     if (!(mov->flags & FF_MOV_FLAG_FRAGMENT)) {
         /* Write size of mdat tag */