doc/filters: clarify use of graph2dot
authorTim Nicholson <Tim.Nicholson@bbc.co.uk>
Wed, 19 Sep 2012 08:02:01 +0000 (09:02 +0100)
committerStefano Sabatini <stefasab@gmail.com>
Wed, 19 Sep 2012 09:50:09 +0000 (11:50 +0200)
The GRAPH_DESCRIPTION string supplied to graph2dot must include explicitly
defined inputs and outputs which are not normally part of the command line
used in a real invocation.

This clarifies that requirement, and provides an example.

Signed-off-by: Stefano Sabatini <stefasab@gmail.com>
doc/filters.texi

index 60b240d..e202d38 100644 (file)
@@ -79,7 +79,18 @@ display graph.png
 @end example
 
 can be used to create and display an image representing the graph
-described by the @var{GRAPH_DESCRIPTION} string.
+described by the @var{GRAPH_DESCRIPTION} string. Note that this string must be
+a complete self-contained graph, with its inputs and outputs explicitly defined.
+For example if your command line is of the form:
+@example
+ffmpeg -i infile -vf scale=640:360 outfile
+@end example
+your @var{GRAPH_DESCRIPTION} string will need to be of the form:
+@example
+nullsrc,scale=640:360,nullsink
+@end example
+you may also need to set the @var{nullsrc} parameters and add a @var{format}
+filter in order to simulate a specific input file.
 
 @c man end GRAPH2DOT