docs: add example around the suggested commit message format
authorJames Darnley <james.darnley@gmail.com>
Thu, 11 Sep 2014 23:31:26 +0000 (01:31 +0200)
committerMichael Niedermayer <michaelni@gmx.at>
Thu, 11 Sep 2014 23:59:44 +0000 (01:59 +0200)
It gets rendered inline in HTML and becomes not very clear.

Reviewed-by: Timothy Gu <timothygu99@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Michael Niedermayer <michaelni@gmx.at>
doc/developer.texi

index 1e1d3b8..8b1f150 100644 (file)
@@ -323,9 +323,12 @@ Always fill out the commit log message. Describe in a few lines what you
 changed and why. You can refer to mailing list postings if you fix a
 particular bug. Comments such as "fixed!" or "Changed it." are unacceptable.
 Recommended format:
+
+@example
 area changed: Short 1 line description
 
 details describing what and why and giving references.
+@end example
 
 @item
 Make sure the author of the commit is set correctly. (see git commit --author)